Fortunately we were surprised by Christo Brand who befriended Nelson Mandela after serving as his …prison guard. His story was so moving. I encourage you all to get his book. He signed a copy for me!

Janee Bolden, Instgram - September 2023

Just finished your book today! Such a fascinating read!

Michelle Spitzer, Instagram - September 2023

Awe-inspired by my chat with this gentleman who in the course of our conversation I discovered was a close friend of Nelson Mandela!

ameetabakes on Instagram - 5 July 2023

I want to personally thank you for the fantastic session you put on with the gentlemen. It was an invaluable part of the experience for the students, and I know we all came out of that session changed in a small but significant way.

George Mason University - Christo and Igshaan remote session, 10th June 2023

Mandela talks about “Brand” in his autobiographical Conversations. And Christo Brand continues to deliver a message we all must hear about history and hope.
Meeting Mr. Brand and learning about stories and events that go beyond his book was one of my greatest life experiences.
Imagine this, I’m certain my children will tell their children, “yes, I met Christo Brand, the man who was Nelson Mandela’s warden, and this is what he told me…” How does it get any better than that?

Private conversation with USA guests - Jason Klumb, 17 April 2023

It was a very insightful and amazing tour. Thank you Christo Brand – I am currently reading your book and find it very hard to put it down.

Private Robben Island tour - March 2023

What an incredible evening you provided! We met Christo at Baias last night and held us captivated by his story about being a guard for Nelson Mandela for 18 years. What a story and what a life he had. He gave us his book with his experience and dedicated it to us. What a treat, Cindy. I don’t know how you managed it, but we certainly were incredulous that a guard for Mandela would come and talk about his experience! Thank you Cindy for the experience and for the dinner. It was lovely. Wow!

Private dinner - 22nd March 2023

Apartheid history is often a point of interest amongst our visitors – books like this help illuminate the past. Christo Brand..was just 19 years old when he was assigned to be Nelson Mandela’s prison guard on Robben Island. A riveting read…thank you.

Instagram book review from capewondertours - Feb 2023

From Instagram @lavishlifestylesconcierge: A curated private conversation with Nelson Mandela’s prison guard and private tour of Robben Island. It was both insightful and sobering. These are some of the experiences we curate and personalize for our clients when they travel to South Africa.

Private conversation and tour of Robben Island, 5 January 2023

On Instagram from @tateescapes: How cool is it that through traveling to new destinations we can also travel through time – meeting with those whose journeys are history coming to life before our very eyes? While in Cape Town, we had the pleasure of enjoying a private dinner with Christo Brand…. This night was a highlight of our time in South Africa.

Private dinner, 19th December 2022

 


“Beautiful story of an unlikely friendship that lasted decades.”BMR, MSW, LSW

Very interesting and truly inspiring. Christo Brand (Mandela’s warder) has a very straight-forward writing style, which I personally liked. In addition to the incredible lives led by Mandela and his fellow prisoners, it is fascinating to read a first hand account of a white working class young man growing up during the Apartheid, finding himself stationed with the political prisoners, and becoming a friend of the men he guarded, both during and after their time in prison.” – Laura Pugh

Fascinating book by a man who became friends with Mandela while serving as his warder (prison guard). Interesting look at the period leading to his becoming the president of South Africa, with interesting glimpses of behind-scenes developments. Also really showed the humanity of Mandela in ways no one else could have.” – Dee Halzack

Inspiring story that shows extending kindness even in the darkest of situations can have positive results.” – Sarah Snow

To read more Good Read reviews, click HERE

“A powerful and heartwarming story about two men!” – carol dougherty

“Had the privilege of meeting and hearing Mr Brand speak while on a trip to South Africa. Enjoyed reading the entire story and learning more about Mandela.” –

This book should be prescribed reading for all warders, teaches, policeman and people who are taking up positions of power over others.
Mandela at a time of powerlessness recognized that Christo Brand was also in a weak position an gave him respect. Mandela was able to distinguish between the warder and the organization and protected Christo by not demanding favors that would have had bad consequences for Him.
Mandela would have had many warders during his time in prison and I like to think that dome of the others might have also been like Christo. Some might have been moved on because they where also bending the rules in favor of their special prisoners.
” –

Love this book!” –

To read more Amazon reviews, click HERE